- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

05.27.03

I split this up into two parts because it�s such a long fucking story. I suggest reading part one (if you haven�t already) before reading this entry.

Sooo. Where was I? Oh, yeah - standing in the middle of a four-lane highway watching Chris stumble into traffic. The only thing saving his ass was his bright orange t-shirt. We couldn't have been there for more than a couple of minutes but it seemed like an eternity as thoughts of past events involving Chris-drama flashed through my mind. All the times that he's acted out like this, and all the times that we (his friends) have tried to give him the benefit of the doubt - and by doubt, I mean that we try to pretend that he is not completely insane.

BF was out in the road too. He was screaming at Chris for hitting me and telling him that "he had REALLY fucked up this time". I remember a few years ago, when Adam was still alive, BF stood in the front yard of Adam's house and screamed out the same words. Only last time it was just that Chris had simply yelled at me - he had never been physically violent.

And in the last entry, I had just gotten off the phone with BF's dad (from now on referred to as Mr. D). He owns a small company where both BF and Chris are employed. Mr. D has been very patient with Chris over the past few weeks of his employment � patient with his lateness, slackness, and general attitude. (Because he is BF's friend) But I could tell by the sound of his voice that the patience was thin and he was super pissed. Pissed, yet extremely calm and comforting.

Mr. D instructed me to get Chip and BF back into the car and drive to the nearest gas station. It took me a minute or two to convince BF & Chip to STOP fighting with Chris and just leave him there on the side of the highway. As we drove off, I witnessed Chris on the grass hitting him self in the head. (How fucking dramatic is that?) Chip insisted on driving his own car and told me to ride shotgun. We stopped at the Racetrack gas station to get a bottle of water. As we sat there in the parking lot, I kept expecting Chris to come running up into the parking lot all crazy-like - but he never did.

Meanwhile, BF was talking to his dad on my cell phone. Then he passed the phone to Chip who called Chris's parents to inform them of the situation. Chris's mom told us to "let him walk" and that she was "sick of him". Chip then dropped us off at Mr. D's house. I told BF that I was ready to just go home & have a fucking minute to think about what had just happened... but when we pulled up, there were already a few cars in the driveway. My fucking stomach dropped through my feet because I realized that Mr. D had called Kenny - who in turn called a few other guys - and told them that Chris had punched me.

Mr. D gave BF the keys to his car and I was made to ride along. First, they circled the place where we had left Chris on the side of the road. They were looking for any trace of him. After we didn't see him, I suggested (strongly) that we should just head home & worry about this whole thing another day. BUT NO - These were some pissed off guys, and I almost think that a couple of them were just looking for a good fight. BF drove to Chris's apartment with the notion that he may have made it all the way home by now.

When we pulled up, all the lights in Chris's upstairs apartment were on. The door was wide open, almost as if he had been expecting them to come. I refused to get out of the car and watched helplessly as they walked up to his door.

All I heard was a bunch of yelling coming from inside the apartment. Then Kenny came out to the car flushed, shaking, and covered in blood. Shortly after that, the rest of them came out too. They hadn't been in there but for about 2 minutes.

"What happened?" I asked. "Was he there? What the fuck did you guys do?"

BF explained that Chris was, in fact, lying in the bed (butt-naked) when they entered his bedroom. BF grabbed Chris up by the hair and started shouting in his face. Chris then said �What are you gonna do about it? Beat me up?�

Then, before anyone knew what was happening, Kenny pushed BF to the ground and punched Chris in the jaw so hard that he flew off the bed and landed on the floor. BF said that everyone looked away because Chris had come out of the covers and was now completely NAKED. Kenny then jumped on top of him and hit him like 15 times right in the face. The whole time Chris was crying �Let me put on some clothes!�

The rest of the guys had to pull Kenny off of him because they thought that Chris was dead or that he was going to die. And it turns out that Kenny did beat him within an inch of his life. BF said that Chris was bleeding out of one of his eyes and that his jaw was already swollen and dropped to one side. His eyes had already started to blacken & bruise from a broken nose.

BF got scared because he thought that Kenny had really hurt Chris. He bent down and started trying to rouse him. Chris came to, only to ask BF the following question:

�So does this mean that your dad�s going to fire me?� (Except that he said it with a mouthful of blood so it sounded more like �Shjo dus djis ean jat jur jad�s dona ire e?�) Then he lay his head back down & started crying.

So that's what happened. I imagine that Chris awoke the next morning - not remembering anything whatsoever from the night before - and wondering how his jaw got broken. We haven't seen or heard from him since... I wonder if he'll show up for work this morning? I am afraid that he will & that he�ll be mad at BF, even though it was Kenny who beat him up.

All I know is that there is this GUILT that is totally eating at me � like even though he brought that shit on himself, he just can�t help it. He needs a fucking psychiatrist. But, according to BF & his friends, Chris just needed a good ass-kicking.

OKAY. So maybe it wasn't all that dramatic, after all. But for me - that's enough excitement to last for a good long while!

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)