- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

07.14.03

"It is never too late to be what you might have been." ~ George Eliot

I bought groceries this weekend, which isn�t a big deal to most people, but to me it was tremendous. I noticed Saturday morning that the milk in the refrigerator was dated May 15 (ewww). I will stop there on the contents of the rest of the fridge, cause it�s just too damn gross.

So I waited patiently for BF to return home, making a list of all the stuff that I was going to buy at the grocery store. I divided the list up and re-wrote it (because I am OCD like that) in the order of where the items were on the isles in the store. I dressed carefully in warmer than your average July day clothes in anticipation of the coldness of the freezer section.

In other words, I got WAY too excited about going to Ingles.

When BF finally came home at 12:30 pm, he was drunk as shit. His dad had taken him & his friend out for �lunch�. They ended up not really eating, but getting incredibly hammered. This made me a little very upset, as I had spent the entire morning getting ready for the grocery store� and now all he wanted to do was pass out on the sofa. But I was determined to go � and so we loaded up in the Honda & started down the street.

He complained the whole way to the store and when the car finally stopped in the parking lot, I realized what a bad idea this whole thing was. He didn�t even park the car straight in the space, but instead took up 2 spaces and narrowly missed the shopping cart corral. I wrestled the keys away from him & amidst the stares of old ladies putting groceries in their trunks; I jumped in the driver�s seat. �Get in.� I told him. �I am taking you back home.� But when I turned the key, nothing happened. NOTHING. The car wouldn�t crank. And the rest of the story is quite predictable, as you might have guessed. His father had to come rescue us from the 90-degree hunk of uncrankable death that became the Honda after about 15 minutes. Do you people realize how fucking expensive a new battery can be? Fucking 95 dollars plus!

But I finally got my damn groceries. I guess that�s all that matters.

---

I have the unbelievably strong urge to get 'torn up' after work today, and I probably will. I am tired of making excuses to myself as to why I SHOULDN'T and why I WON'T. I just want to drift off into a drug-induced semi coma state until it's time to come back here tomorrow. Is that so wrong? It's been such a long while now...

This guy called my cell Saturday after we got back from our grocery store adventures. The guy � someone I was �talking to� while BF and I were technically broken up last year. Some lame excuse to talk to me like he needed to get in touch with Bo. I told him that Bo has been in rehab for the past six months & gave him the number to the center. That wasn�t the end of the conversation because he kept B.S.ing about blah, blah, blah� And the whole time, there was BF sitting right next to me, listening to the entire conversation. I kept trying to cut it short. I told him that I had to go because my FIANCE and I were cooking dinner. Fiance?

Yes. BF and I have been engaged since Christmas� I figured that surely everyone had heard by now. And he just said �Wow. You are going to be a little mommy soon, I will bet money on it. Why else would you get married?�

Why do people have to be so stupid like that? He was irritated that I was back together with BF, so he had to say something ridiculously hateful. Fuck you JAY. Fuck you.

---

My eyes are still tender but not swollen. As I lay across the bed last night, fan blowing, myrrh-scented lotion, BF kissing my back... I suddenly burst out crying. I couldn't even trace the tears back to their 'root' thought. The whole moment was just too much - and I tried to explain myself.

One thought was about the way that he was tracing my back all carelessly � soft � not sexual. He was un-purposefully making small circles around my sides, neck, and shoulders. I quickly drifted into that �in-between� time of sleeping & dreaming. I thought back to when I was in high school & we took a school trip to Miami. We left the day after Christmas. Miami was unbearably hot and humid even in December� But I was thinking back to that trip, or more so to the night before that trip. My grandma was so worried about her baby (me) traveling so far. I sat there in her chair with her and she was tracing my back � carelessly like this.

Suddenly, I was back in that long-ago house, sitting in that ancient chair. Rocking with her. Back & forth. And she was tracing my back with her tiny hands.

Her hands were just like tissue paper.

And for a moment, I felt her hand on my back and it was okay. It was perfectly fine. Except for the fact that she has been dead for quite some time. And I felt a twinge of panic. I can never go back there. I can NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER go back there again EVER. Back there with my silly childhood.

The week of her death, I didn't cry at all. I told everyone that it was because I hadn't a chance to miss her yet. Not the way that I sometimes miss her all SUDDENLY and unannounced.

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)