- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

05.29.03

Last night as I lay wide-awake, I noticed that the shadows on the bedroom walls had become blue. And because of ear plugs, I couldn't quite hear the sirens.

I ran into the livingroom and peeked through the curtains. There was my neighbor in his front driveway being given a sobriety test by one of my town's finest.

That fucking sucks! To get pulled over in your own driveway! I got BF up to look too. In the darkness of our house we each staked out a front window where we watched the Cops-like drama unfold. We weren't ashamed to be seen, but tried to keep it on the DL. (hehe) It was soooo funny watching my neighbor being stumbling drunk (trying to walk a straight line on his driveway) while his wife screamed at him from the front door (we couldn't hear what she was saying) and seeing the cops slap the handcuffs on him & put him in the back.

I looked at BF and said: "Aren't you glad we don't have neighbors like us?"

Then I thought for a minute as I lay back down in my bed. I thought about the fact that our neighbor had brought his FIVE YEAR OLD SON over to our house for Halloween trick-or-treating. His son, whom he sat outside the house with each morning waiting on the school bus. His son, who probably saw his daddy being arrested for DUI in the front yard.

I swear to god.

I drink. I drive. HOWEVER, I have never done both at the same time.

{{ Something I have never mentioned is Cheryl (my stepsister) who died (killed by a drunkdriver) when we were both seniors in highschool 6 years ago. }}

I will have to tell that story one day when I feel up to it. But whatever. I think that DUI should be treated the same as "Attempted Murder". Cause that's what it is.

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)