- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

01.31.03

I have figured out what topic I am doing my informative speech on! I was chosen to go first on Monday so I shall have to work extra hard this weekend to prepare. I have been busily looking up stats about veganism (if that's a word) all morning at work.

And so, I thought I would share some interesting facts involving animal products that ALSO involve some of my favorite pastimes:

1 - Animal products are used in almost ALL alchoholic beverages for the purpose of fining. (Beer = good, killing animals = bad... hmmm... that is a toughie!)

2 - Some sugar companies process sugar through bone char (yes, it is what it sounds like) to take out the coloring & make sugar white.

3 - Washington red apples are glazed with shellac, which is a resin produced from insects. (Yum)

4 - Oral sex is vegan even though it may involve putting flesh in your mouth, as it shouldn't really involve any cruelty or exploitation, and said flesh is taken out again eventually and returned to its rightful owner. (Oh and by the way, many condoms have casein added. Two that are vegan are "Excalibur" and "Vis-a-vis" from Sagami.)

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)