- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

09.27.03

Writing here is becoming a habit - a nasty place.

This morning BF put his mouth and face on the back of my neck and sighed in his sleep. I fell asleep with his hand on my hipbone, feeling just for a minute that I was someone's heaven.

At lunch break yesterday, I came in from the front porch to wash my hands and looked into the mirror over the sink. I looked for some sign of symmetry - something beautiful. I remember my years as an art major at the university. A statement. A mantra - beauty is symmetry. One assignment was to gather photos of "beautiful people"... celebrities, models, whatever. To fold, and to look - each ear & eye. And you know, they were right, it was all of balanced proportions.

But what is it really about those things other than what the eyes 'see'?

the way that he remains invariant under certain changes (as of orientation in space, of the sign of the electric charge, of parity, or of the direction of time flow)

That is his symmetry.

-------

My stomach is a wreck.

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)