- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

02.01.03

I used to work late night at a 24 hour gas station -- on 2nd shift. Besides the usual phone harrassment of old ladies wondering what the winning lottery numbers were, I would also get a lot of stupid prank calls close to midnight from drunk college students & little kids. Believe me, I have heard them all... One of them was especially irritating.

"Do you have (i.e. sell) mothballs?"

Usually, I would hang up the phone, but that just makes people call back. So, sometimes I would play along & say "Yes", because I knew what would come next & I fugured that I would just let somebody think that they were clever for about 2 seconds.

Goddammit, I can't remember the punchline. It was pretty stupid though. Does anyone know the freakin punchline to that???

Anyways, it's pretty early on Saturday morning. I have to break from all the research I have been doing for my speech on monday - which is killing me - smoking and drinking some GOOD turkish coffee...

Freezing my sweet ass off in my house.

Yesterday, BF climbed into the attic to spread mothballs. (which by the way, smell extremely bad) After complaining about the noise coming from the walls and ceiling, our landlord told us to get some mothballs. He said that they are supposed to drive out all the "critters" that run around in there at night. Shouldn't our landlord crawl his fat ass up in there or hire a GD exterminator?

I would bitch about it to him except that there are at least 5 or 6 huge burn holes in the carpet from a party that I had a few months ago.

BF found that there was zero insulation up in there, just bare fucking wood. No wonder it's so cold in here. And so that's why my gas bill was almost 300 dollars last month and there was still frozen dishwater in the sink!

I told our slumlord about the lack of insulation in the house and the city/state regulations regarding insulation. He said that he would try to fix it sometime.

Yeah right.

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)