- Index - Archives - Notes - Profile - Dland -

10.07.02

I feel compelled to tell everyone about my saturday night...

Boyfriend and I went to the theatre to see the movie, Red Dragon. (Which, by the way, was pretty good - but not as good as the origional 80's version of the movie called Manhunter.) So anyways... We get in the movie and sit near the back of the room. I noticed this couple walk in- a very young teenage couple- who appeared to be concentrating very hard on walking.

The couple sat behind us, and the movie starts. About 30 minutes into the movie (at a very tense part) We hear this incredible thump behind our seat. Everyone in the entire room turns to look back at us. And I look back behind our seats.

The kid - the young boy- is on the floor with his bare feet in the air, shaking uncontrollably. He is having a seizure. He was shaking so hard that his shoes came off...& his little girlfriend looks at me & boyfriend ... "help him!" she screams angrily. "somebody fucking help him!"

I push boyfriend a little, but I am so stunned. The girl is still screaming. The guy is still thrashing on the ground. This goes on for at least 5 minutes while someone runs out to get help.

So here comes the rent-a-cops & they turn the movie off and the lights come on. For the first time I get a good look at this kid that was sitting behind me. He has stopped shaking.

His nose is bleeding heavily and he has vomited all over himself.

By this time, I am feeling so nervous that I want to leave the room but I can't. It's that morbid facination.

I hear the security guard asking the girl, who turns out to be 15 years old, if the boy had taken anything.

"Cocaine, I think." she says quite loudly.

Now, I have never seen someone OD on coke. But I have seen someone OD on crystal meth, and it was very similair to this.

The boy is having a severe overdose in the middle of a crowded movie theatre.

Before the ambulance people take this boy to the hospital, they put handcuffs on him. He is now awake, but still very out of it & swinging at everyone in sight.

I hear an ambulance guy talking to the boy's mother on his cell phone. Telling her that her teenage son has overdosed on "something" in a cinema.

As soon as they took him out, the lights went down & the movie came back on.

I felt sick to my stomach all night.

Stuff like that tears me up...

previous/next

Copyright � ME 2002 - 2012 (like you care)